Today, the NC State Board of Education approved 11 of 15 appointments to the new Public Charter School Advisory Council.

  1. Kwan Graham, Parent and Parent Liaison Initiative leader for Parents for Educational Freedom in NC (PEFNC)
  2. Jenny Adams, Retired teacher
  3. John Betterton, Public charter school principal
  4. Alfred Dillon, Former public charter school board member
  5. Richard Hooker, Local business owner & school board member
  6. Dr. Tim Markley, Superintendent of New Hanover County Schools
  7. Aaron Means, Former KIPP Charlotte board member
  8. Dr. Rebecca Shore, UNC Charlotte professor, former teacher and school administrator
  9. Paul J. Norcross, Phoenix Academy Charter School co-founder and board member, NC Alliance for Public Charter Schools
  10. Baker Mitchell Jr., Roger Bacon Academy Charter School co-founder (Full disclosure: He serves on the John Locke Foundation Board of Directors)
  11. Dr. Robert Landry, Former school teacher, principal and superintendent

So far, so good.  This list includes a number of appointees that are very active in North Carolina’s charter school movement.

HT: PEFNC press release