Last week, Governor McCrory (R?) appointed 22 members to the State Textbook Commission.  The commission evaluates and recommends textbooks to be used in North Carolina’s public schools, so it is a fairly important job.

Just for the heck of it, I checked N.C. State Board of Elections records to determine the voter registration of each appointee. Democrats should be pleased.  Republicans may be scratching their heads.

(Note: It is possible that the affiliation listed below actually represents another voter with the same name.  I apologize in advance for any errors.)

Dawn Hester (Pitt County) R
Tracy Arnold (Pitt County) D
Tracey Lewis (Stokes County) D
Lesa Widener (Catawba County) N/A
Julie Felix (Cabarrus County) R
Maria Bishop (Burke County) R
Michelle Gray (Scotland County) N/A
Charles Gaffigan (McDowell County) U
Brian Creasman (Vance County) D
Cassundra Morrison (Surry County) D
Jessica Luby (Catawba County) U
Glenn Locklear (New Hanover County) N/A
Michelle Tiesi (Mecklenburg County) D
Alison Mintz (Cleveland County) D
Rodney Trice (Orange County) D
Daniel Novey (Carteret County) U
Kathleen Linker (Rowan County) N/A
Lissa Harris (Guilford County) D
Linda Mozell (Guilford County) D
Brenda Winfrey-Knox (Cumberland County) D
Kathy Crumpler (Pender County) D
Stephen Gay (Wake County) R


Republican: 4

Democrat: 11

Unaffiliated: 3

Not available: 4