Head Locke Episode 020: The Future of the UNC System?

posted on
Featured Image

Head Locke Episode 020: The Future of the UNC System?

00:00 / 00:15:40

North Carolina’s first state constitution in 1776 mandated “That a school or schools shall be established by the Legislature, for the convenient instruction of youth, . . . and all useful learning shall be duly encouraged, and promoted, in one or more universities.” In 1789, the University of North Carolina was established at Chapel Hill, and the first class of students arrived six years later. Today, the UNC System has 16 universities and the N.C. School of Science and Mathematics. In 2017, over 185,000 undergraduates and nearly 47,000 graduate students are enrolled.  Kari Travis, Associate Editor of Carolina Journal, joins Terry and Kory to discuss the future of the UNC System under the leadership of system president Margaret Spellings and Board of Governors chairman Harry Smith.

Donate Today

About John Locke Foundation

We are North Carolina’s Most Trusted and Influential Source of Common Sense. The John Locke Foundation was created in 1990 as an independent, nonprofit think tank that would work “for truth, for freedom, and for the future of North Carolina.” The Foundation is named for John Locke (1632-1704), an English philosopher whose writings inspired Thomas Jefferson and the other Founders.

The John Locke Foundation is a 501(c)(3) research institute and is funded solely from voluntary contributions from individuals, corporations, and charitable foundations.