With four new vetoes announced this morning, Gov. Roy Cooper now has used his veto stamp 42 times. That’s a record for N.C. governors and more than twice as many as the 20 vetoes Bev Perdue issued in her single term in the executive mansion.

Mike Easley vetoed nine bills during his eight years in office. Pat McCrory issued six vetoes in his single term.

Cooper has vetoed an average of 14 bills a year, also a record. Perdue averaged five per year, McCrory 1.5, and Easley 1.1.

Cooper has issued almost 55% of all vetoes ever dispensed by a governor in this state.