No. As discussed last year, North Carolina would join a growing group of states that have ended or suspended their film tax credits or never joined in the folly to begin with. Many states have opted out, including several quite recently (most recent first):

  • Missouri: program sunsetted on Nov. 28, 2013
  • Wisconsin: program ended as of July 1, 2013
  • Kansas: program ended as of Dec. 31, 2012 — after having been reinstated in 2011 following suspension in 2009-10
  • Iowa: program terminated (it had been suspended in 2009 after discovery of widespread fraud and abuse)
  • Indiana: program sunsetted in 2012
  • Arizona: program sunsetted in 2010
  • New Jersey: program slated to sunset in 2015
  • Connecticut: program placed on hiatus
  • Idaho: program hasn’t received any appropriations since 2010
  • The District of Columbia: program not funded
  • Delaware: no program
  • Nebraska: no program
  • New Hampshire: no program
  • North Dakota: no program
  • South Dakota: no program

In other words, over a quarter of U.S. states are not playing the film incentives games.